A Symphony of Stories

Musical Myths and Tuneful Tales

Binding: Hardcover

Imprint: Otter-Barry Books

Age 5+

Traditional Stories Music: General Interest

A follow-up to Once Upon a Tune, this beautiful gift book introduces children to six more musical classics through story and illustration

Six world famous orchestral pieces from six renowned composers feature in this beautiful gift book, introducing children to the world of classical music through story and illustration. James Mayhew tells the stories of six much loved pieces of music, accompanied by breath-taking illustrations: Carnival of the Animals by Camille Saint-Saens

The Four Seasons by Antonio Vivaldi
The Sunken Cathedral by Claude Debussy
The Butterfly Lovers by Chen Gang and He Zhanhao
The Planets by Gustav Holst
The Firebird by Igor Stravinsky


James Mayhew is an internationally acclaimed author, artist and storyteller. Once Upon A Tune was inspired by his work with orchestras and musicians, presenting concerts that incorporate stories, music and art created live on stage. He is the illustrator of the Mrs Noah series written by Jackie Morris (twice nominated for the Kate Greenaway Medal). He lives in Suffolk, England, where the big skies and gentle light are perfect for artists.

Other books you'll love