Igniting Darkness

Binding: Paperback

Imprint: Andersen Press

Age 12+

Fantasy & Magical Realism Adventure Stories Historical Fiction

Sybella and Genevieve are assassins, trained in the convent of the God of Death himself. Having finally found one another within the treacherous world of the medieval French court, they now face a greater danger in the form of the French King himself. Sybella has already drawn his anger, and Genevieve has mistakenly courted his attention, which could do more harm to her sisters and allies than good. Yet Death will find a way, even if it's not what one expects.

No one can be trusted in this thrilling conclusion to the Courting Darkness duology, set in the world of Robin LaFevers's beloved His Fair Assassins trilogy.


Robin LaFevers is an award-winning American children's book writer from California. She is the author of the Theodosia series and Nathaniel Fludd, Beastologist series. Robin grew up in Los Angeles, California and now resides on a small ranch in Southern California with her husband, two sons, dog and cat.


A fast paced book that keeps me interested

The Echo (Cork)

Here is more engaging and masterful storytelling that builds on the His Fair Assassin trilogy and is the second book in the Courting Darkness duology. The writing in this installment, really the fifth book in an unofficial series, holds up beautifully, and the court intrigue and the undercover work of political females of all ranks and privileges continue to delight. Stakes have never been higher, and the author skillfully ratchets up the tension with short chapters and narrator shifts, primarily between Genevieve and familiar character Sybella, with additional voices added for impact. Readers need the backstory, so start them with Grave Mercy (2012) and then get ready for the demand.


Other books you'll love