The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, Volume II

The Kingdom on the Waves

Binding: Paperback

Imprint: Walker Books

1 Other Related Editions

Age 14+

Historical Fiction

A fascinating portrait of betrayal – part gothic tale, part historical fiction – set against the backdrop of tragedy, slavery and war.

In the second volume of The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Octavian and Doctor Trefusis escape to Virginia where Octavian joins up with Lord Dunmore's troops, following the famous proclamation promising to liberate any slave that will fight for the British in the Revolutionary war. While there, Octavian reunites with Bono, fights in vicious battles, and falls desperately in love.


M. T. Anderson has worked as a DJ, a music reviewer, and at a children's book publisher before becoming a full-time writer. He is the author of several critically acclaimed young adult novels including Burger Wuss, Thirsty and Feed, which won the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. He teaches creative writing at university level and lives in Massachusetts, USA.


Boston Globe-Horn Book Award Honor Book, Fiction
Margaret A. Edwards Award
Michael L. Printz Honor Book
Parents’ Choice Award
St. Botolph Foundation Distinguished Artist Award
Other books you'll love