Twelve Walker Books Australia Notables in the 2020 CBCA List

We are very excited to announce that the following Walker Books Australia titles have been named 2020 CBCA (Children’s Book Council of Australia) Notables:

Book of the Year - Younger Readers:
Hapless Hero Henrie – Petra James, illust. by A. Yi
Catch A Falling Star – Meg McKinlay
The Secrets of Magnolia Moon – Edwina Wyatt, illust. by Katherine Quinn

Book of the Year – Early Childhood:
Let Me Sleep, Sheep! – Meg McKinlay, illust. by Leila Rudge

Picture Book of the Year
Mallee Sky – Jodi Toering, illust. by Tannya Harricks
Let Me Sleep, Sheep! – Meg McKinlay, illust. by Leila Rudge
Nop – Caroline Magerl
The Good Son: A Story from the First World War, Told in Miniature – Pierre-Jacques Ober, illust. by Jules Ober and Felicity Coonan
Queen Celine – Matt Shanks

Eve Pownall Award
Playing with Collage – Jeannie Baker
Searching for Cicadas – Lesley Gibbes, illust. by Judy Watson
Wilam: A Birrarung Story – Andrew Kelly and Aunty Joy Murphy, illust. by Lisa Kennedy.

The 2020 CBCA Short List will be announced on Tuesday, March 31st, with the winners and Honours books to be announced at a ceremony on Friday, August 21st. This ceremony will also serve as the launch for the CBCA Book Week for 2020, with this year’s theme being “Curious Creatures, Wild Minds”.

Learn more and see the full list here.

Last updated on 26/02/20 at 02:21:11
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.