Walker Books and Agency titles chosen for the CILIP Carnegie Medal and Kate Greenaway Medal Longlists

The Carnegie Medal and Kate Greenaway Medal Longlists were released, with Walker Books and our agencies receiving six nods in the CILIP Carngie Medal longlist, and 9 nods on the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal longlist.

Celebrating the best in children’s writing and illustration respectively, the Medals are unique in being judged by children’s librarians, while the Shadowers’ Choice Award, recently added to the Awards ceremony celebrations, is voted for by children and young people who shadow the Medals. The 40-strong list of titles for the 2020 Medals (20 on each longlist) were selected from a total of 162 nominations, read by an expert volunteer team of 14 children's and youth librarians from across the UK.

2020 CILIP Carnegie Medal longlist

Louisiana's Way Home by Kate DiCamillo (Walker Books)
Inkling by Kenneth Oppel (Walker Books)
Monsters by Sharon Dogar (Andersen Press)
No Fixed Address by Susin Nielsen (Andersen Press)
On the Come Up by Angie Thomas (Walker Books)
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black by Marcus Sedgwick and Julian Sedgwick, illustrated by Alexis Deacon (Walker Books)

2020 CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal longlist

Captain Rosalie illustrated by Isabelle Arsenault, written by Timothée de Fombelle and translated by Sam Gordon (Walker Books)
B is for Baby illustrated by Angela Brooksbank and written by Atinuke, (Walker Books)
And the Ocean Was Our Sky illustrated by Rovina Cai and written by Patrick Ness (Walker Books)
Fanatical About Frogs written and illustrated by Owen Davey (Flying Eye)
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black illustrated by Alexis Deacon and written by Marcus Sedgwick and Julian Sedgwick (Walker Books)
When Sadness Comes to Call written and illustrated by Eva Eland (Andersen Press)
The Undefeated illustrated by Kadir Nelson and written by Kwame Alexander (Andersen Press)
The Dam
illustrated by Levi Pinfold and written by David Almond (Walker Books)
Mary and Frankenstein illustrated by Júlia Sardà and written by Linda Bailey (Andersen Press)

The winners being announced on Wednesday 17th June 2020 at a special daytime event at The British Library, hosted by University Challenge star and CILIP Library Champion, Bobby Seagull. The winners will each receive £500 worth of books to donate to their local library, a specially commissioned golden medal and a £5,000 Colin Mears Award cash prize.

You can see the full longlists for both medals here.

Last updated on 21/02/20 at 02:22:16
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.