Two Walker Books Australia titles announced as 2019 CBCA Honour Books

Walker Books Australia is thrilled to announce that Small Spaces by Sarah Epstein and The Happiness Box: A Wartime Book of Hope by Mark Greenwood and illustrated by Andrew McLean, have been chosen as Honour Books at the 2019 CBCA (Children’s Book Council of Australia) Awards. The awards were announced at the CBCA 73rd Book of the Year Awards ceremony in Melbourne today.

Small Spaces is an honour book in the Book of the Year: Older Readers category. Small Spaces is Sarah Epstein’s debut novel and has been nominated for a number of awards, including being shortlisted for the 2019 ABIA Awards.

The Happiness Box: A Wartime Book of Hope is an honour book for the 2019 Eve Pownall Award. With this picture book, award winners Mark Greenwood and Andrew McLean bring to life the inspirational true story of a book that became a National Treasure.

The Children's Book Council of Australia (CBCA) is a not for profit, volunteer run organisation which aims to engage the community with literature for young Australians. The CBCA presents annual awards to books of literary merit, for outstanding contribution to Australian children's literature.

See the full list of Notables, Shortlisted titles and winners here.

Last updated on 26/03/20 at 01:24:29
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.