A Monster Calls wins both Carnegie and Kate Greenaway

Walker Books is proud to announce A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness and illustrated by Jim Kay has won both the CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals.

The Medals are the most sought after in children’s literature: writers often describe them as ‘the ones they want to win’. Previous winners of the Carnegie Medal for an outstanding children’s book include Philip Pullman, Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman. The Kate Greenaway Medal for outstanding illustration in a children’s book lists Shirley Hughes, Quentin Blake and Lauren Child among its past winners.

The prestige of the CILIP Carnegie & Kate Greenaway Medals lies partly in their unique judging process. Most of today’s literary and book awards seek submissions from publishers and votes from the public. Not these awards; whose selection process is rooted in the professional expertise of librarians across the country. They nominate titles to be considered for the shortlists, from which the winners are then chosen.

For more information on the awards click here

  • Jim Kay

    Jim Kay studied illustration and then went on to work in the archives of the Tate gallery and the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, two experiences that heavily influence his work.

  • Patrick Ness

    Patrick Ness was born on an army base called Fort Belvoir, near Alexandria, Virginia, in the United States where his father was a drill sergeant in the US Army.

Last updated on 15/06/12 at 01:47:29
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.