Books

Waffle Hearts

By Maria Parr

A deliciously funny story of friendship and family, full of laugh-out-loud adventures and first experiences of death and loss.

Shortlisted for the Marsh Award for Children's Literature in Translation, Maria Parr's acclaimed debut novel will delight fans of Pippi Longstocking, and is "simultaneously funny and hair-raising ... strong in its sense of place and community, never shying away from the joys and difficulties of friendship, and profound loss" (Book Trust). Nine-year-olds Trille and Lena are neighbours and best friends – at least, Trille thinks that Lena is his best friend, despite the escapades into which she regularly drags him. In the wonderful village of Mathildewick Cove they have plenty of time to re-enact the story of Noah’s Ark (or Noah’s Shark, as Lena calls it), enjoy the beginning of summer celebrations with their families and even advertise for a new dad for Lena. Trille and Lena will make exciting companions for young readers as they share their fun-filled antics, as well as some important understandings of family and friendship.

  • "A wonderful life-affirming book." - Books for Keeps
  • Waffle Hearts won the Zilveren Griffel award for the best translated children's book in Dutch, and the Prix Sorcieres in France.
  • "Perfect for fans of Pippi Longstocking, Waffle Hearts is a heartbreaking, heartmaking, hilariously funny tale... This really is a tremendous book, with everything I could hope for in a book to share with my children; beauty, wit, wisdom, joy, thoughtfulness and a lot of fun." - Playing by the Book

About the author

Maria Parr is a talented young Norwegian writer who has won the Brage Prize, the Critics' Award, the Zilveren Griffel and the Prix Sorcières. She has a Master's degree in Nordic languages and literature and is a high school teacher. She lives in Norway.

About the illustrator

Guy Puzey grew up in the Highlands of Scotland, just a short swim away from Norway. He began translating Norwegian literature in 2006, having studied the language at the University of Edinburgh. In 2011 he went on to complete a doctorate on Italian and Norwegian language policy. He works at the University as a course organizer and researcher, and has taught a number of courses including Scandinavian linguistic history, children’s literature and literary translation.

ISBN: 9781406347906
Imprint: Walker
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Paperback
Release Date: January 1, 2015
Dimensions: 129 x 198mm, 240pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $14.99
New Zealand RRP: $16.99
Stock Level: In Stock

Last updated on 24/06/18 at 23:45:14
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.