Books

Uncle Shawn and Bill and the Great Big Purple Underwater Underpants Adventure

By A. L. Kennedy
Illustrated by Gemma Correll

The fourth book in a hilarious, heart-warming series for children from Costa Award-winning author A.L. Kennedy, illustrated by celebrated cartoonist Gemma Correll.

Hold onto your underpants – there's a mysterious purple bottom explosion problem plaguing the world, and no one knows what to do! No one, that is, apart from Uncle Shawn. He knows he and his best friend, Badger Bill, can fix everything by visiting the Living Fish Tree at the bottom of the Pacific Ocean. As long as there is no dastardly villain with an army of evil clockwork clones on the loose, everything will be fine. And how likely is that...?

  • A fourth hilarious comedy caper for children by Costa Book of the Year Award-winning author A.L. Kennedy.
  • The first book of the series (Uncle Shawn and Bill and the Almost Entirely Unplanned Adventure) was shortlisted for the 2018 Laugh Out Loud Book Awards (Lollies) in the 9-13 category.
  • Perfect for fans of Andy Stanton, Roald Dahl and David Walliams.

About the author

A.L. Kennedy is the author of nine novels, three works of non-fiction and six short story collections including All The Rage. She won the Costa Book of the Year for her novel Day, has twice been selected as one of Granta’s Best of Young British Novelists and is a Fellow of both the Royal Society of Arts and the Royal Society of Literature. She is also a dramatist and broadcaster and she has a regular blog with The Guardian Online. She lives in London; this is her first series of books for children. Visit her at www.a-l-kennedy.co.uk

About the illustrator

Gemma Correll is a cartoonist, writer, illustrator and all-round small person. Author of A Cat’s Life (Te Neues, 2012), A Pug’s Guide to Etiquette (Dog N Bone, 2013) and The Worrier’s Guide to Life (Andrews McMeel, 2015) and illustrator of Pugly Bakes a Cake (Nosy Crow, 2016) and Petunia Perry and the Curse of the Ugly Pigeon (Nosy Crow, 2015), both by Pamela Butchart, her illustration clients include Hallmark, The New York Times, Oxford University Press, Knock Knock, Chronicle Books and The Observer.

ISBN: 9781406386271
Imprint: Walker
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Hardback
Release Date: August 1, 2020
Dimensions: 129 x 198mm, 272pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $19.99
New Zealand RRP: $22.99
Stock Level: In Stock

Last updated on 03/08/20 at 00:15:41
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.