Books

Uncle Shawn and Bill and the Almost Entirely Unplanned Adventure

By A. L. Kennedy
Illustrated by Gemma Correll

The first book in a hilarious, heart-warming series for children from Costa Award-winning author A. L. Kennedy, illustrated by Gemma Correll.

Badger Bill needs rescuing. He's been kidnapped by two nasty sisters who are about to make him fight a boxing match against three even nastier dogs. The four most depressed llamas in the history of llamas need rescuing too. They are about to be turned into llama pies. But never fear – Uncle Shawn is here! He loves rescuing things. He has a rescuing plan, which involves dancing, and a mole, and an electric fence. What could possibly go wrong?

  • The first of a hilarious new series for children
  • Ideal for fans of Roald Dahl, David Walliams and Andy Stanton's Mr Gum series
  • A. L. Kennedy wrote this story to make her godchildren laugh. She succeeded

About the author

A.L. Kennedy is the author of three works of non-fiction, and five short story collections including All The Rage. Her seventh novel Serious Sweet will appear this year. She won the Costa Book of the Year for her novel Day, has twice been selected as one of Granta’s Best of Young British Novelists and is a Fellow of both the Royal Society of Arts and the Royal Society of Literature. She is also a dramatist and broadcaster and she has a regular blog with The Guardian Online. She lives in London.

About the illustrator

Gemma Correll is a cartoonist, writer, illustrator and all-round small person. She's the author of A Cat’s Life (Te Neues, 2012), A Pug’s Guide to Etiquette (Dog N Bone, 2013) and The Worrier’s Guide to Life (Andrews McMeel, 2015) and the illustrator of Pugly Bakes a Cake (Nosy Crow, 2016) and Petunia Perry and the Curse of the Ugly Pigeon (Nosy Crow, 2015), both by Pamela Butchart. Her illustration clients include Hallmark, The New York Times, Oxford University Press, Knock Knock, Chronicle Books and The Observer.

ISBN: 9781406360493
Imprint: Walker
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Hardback
Release Date: April 1, 2017
Dimensions: 129 x 198mm, 192pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $19.99
New Zealand RRP: $22.99
Stock Level: In Stock

Last updated on 03/08/20 at 00:13:11
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.