Treasure Island

By Robert Louis Stevenson
Illustrated by Robert Ingpen

A brand-new picture book edition of Treasure Island, written by Robert Louis Stevenson and illustrated by award-winning Australian illustrator Robert Ingpen, for young children.

Young Jim Hawkins is plunged into an adventure that takes him halfway round the world when he discovers a secret treasure map. He battles with desperate pirates, including the sinister Long John Silver, in a race to unearth a hoard of buried gold. Retold in abridged form for confident young readers to tackle alone or to listen to as a bed-time story, Robert Louis Stevenson’s swashbuckling yarn is dramatically illustrated by award-winning artist Robert Ingpen.

  • Includes a 10,000-word adapted text of this timeless classic.
  • This magnificent new abridged edition features over 50 beautiful illustrations by award-winning Australian illustrator Robert Ingpen.

About the author

Robert Louis Stevenson was born in Edinburgh in 1850. In his early twenties, while studying law, he became afflicted with a severe respiratory illness and was determined to become a professional writer. His first novel, Treasure Island, was published in 1883 and brought him instant fame. He died in 1894, having written thirteen novels, four volumes of short stories, essays, plays and many poems.

About the illustrator

Robert Ingpen was born in 1936 in Geelong, Australia and still lives and works nearby in Barwon Heads. He studied illustration art and book design at The Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology. In 1986, he was awarded the Hans Christian Andersen Medal for his contribution to children’s literature and he has been honoured with Membership of the Order of Australia. His highly acclaimed series of illustrated Children’s Classics have now been published in many editions around the world. The titles in the series are: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, Alice Through the Looking-Glass, Around the World in Eighty Days, Just So Stories, Peter Pan and Wendy, The Adventures of Pinocchio, The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, The Jungle Book, The Night Before Christmas, The Nutcracker, The Owl and the Pussycat and Other Nonsense Rhymes, The Secret Garden, The Wind in the Willows, The Wonderful Wizard of Oz and Treasure Island.

ISBN: 9781760651411
Imprint: Walker Books Australia
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Hardback
Release Date: November 1, 2018
Dimensions: 216 x 260mm, 64pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $27.99
New Zealand RRP: $29.99
Stock Level: In Stock

Last updated on 04/11/18 at 22:24:21
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.