Books

The Wonderling

By Mira Bartok

In this extraordinary debut novel, Mira Bartók tells the story of Arthur, a shy, fox-like groundling who sets out on a quest to find his destiny.

A richly imagined, spellbinding fantasy-adventure, perfect for fans of E. Nesbit, Kenneth Grahame and Philip Pullman. Welcome to the Home for Wayward and Misbegotten Creatures, an institution run by evil Miss Carbunkle, a cunning villainess who believes her terrified young groundlings exist only to serve and suffer. For the Wonderling, an innocent-hearted, fox-like eleven-year-old known only as number 13, it is the only home he has ever known. But when unexpected courage leads him to rescue a young bird groundling named Trinket, the Wonderling is given two incredible gifts: a real name – Arthur, like the good king in the old stories – and a best friend. Using Trinket’s ingenious invention, the pair escape over the wall and embark on an adventure that will take them out into the wider world and down the path of Arthur’s true destiny.

  • Richly imagined, with shimmering language, steampunk motifs, and gripping, magical plot twists, this high adventure fantasy is the debut novel of award-winning memoirist Mira Bartók and has already been put into development for a major motion picture.
  • The author, Mira Bartok, is a New York Times bestselling author and won the 2012 National Book Critics Circle Award for Autobiography.
  • Fox 2000 bought the film rights in a highly competitive situation before the manuscript was even completed.

About the author

Mira Bartók is a writer and artist whose New York Times best-selling memoir, The Memory Palace: A Memoir, won the National Book Critics Circle Award for Autobiography. The Wonderling is her first novel for young readers. She lives in Western Massachusetts.

ISBN: 9781406379907
Imprint: Walker
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Paperback
Release Date: December 1, 2018
Dimensions: 129 x 198mm, 464pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $17.99
New Zealand RRP: $19.99
Stock Level: In Stock

Last updated on 02/12/18 at 21:47:48
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.