Books

The Traitor and the Thief

By Gareth Ward

**eBook Edition** A thief, a spy and a steampunk showdown at Traitor's Gate!

Caught picking pockets at Coxford’s Corn Market, 14-year-old Sin is offered a way out of his life of crime: join the Covert Operations Group (COG) and train to become a spy. At Lenheim Palace, he learns spy craft and is befriended by eccentric Zonda Chubb. After an assassination attempt on the founder of COG, they endeavour to unmask the traitor. Sin is then forced into an uneasy alliance with the school bully, Velvet Von Darque. But can he trust her? And will COG try to bury him with the secrets he discovers? The Traitor and the Thief is the debut young adult novel from New Zealand author Gareth Ward. This fantastic steampunk adventure story is the perfect book for fans of Scott Westerfeld’s Leviathan series and Philip Reeve’s Mortal Engines series. It was the winner of the 2016 Storylines Tessa Duder Award. “The Traitor and the Thief should delight readers at the younger end of the YA spectrum who enjoy quirky worldbuilding and stories that are more adventure and mystery than coming-of-age and romance (although there are hints of both). 4/5 stars.” Books+Publishing

About the author

Gareth Ward (aka The Great Wardini) is a magician, hypnotist, storyteller and bookseller. He has worked as a Royal Marine Commando, police officer, evil magician and zombie, and as a writer and compere of Napier City’s inaugural steampunk murder mystery evening. Born near Oxford in the UK he currently lives in Hawke’s Bay, New Zealand, where he runs two independent bookshops with his wife Louise. His first novel The Traitor and the Thief, a rip-roaring steampunk adventure, won the 2016 Storylines Tessa Duder Award.

ISBN: 9781925381733
Imprint: Walker Books Australia
Distributor: Walker Australia
Binding:
Release Date: August 1, 2017
Dimensions: 0 x 0mm, 352pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $14.99
New Zealand RRP: $16.99
Stock Level:

Last updated on 01/12/19 at 22:27:32
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.