Books

The Traitor and the Thief

By Gareth Ward

This fantastic steampunk adventure story for young adult readers is the Winner of the 2016 Storylines Tessa Duder Award.

Caught picking pockets at Coxford’s Corn Market, 14-year-old Sin is offered a way out of his life of crime: join the Covert Operations Group (COG) and train to become a spy. At Lenheim Palace, he learns spy craft and is befriended by eccentric Zonda Chubb. After an assassination attempt on the founder of COG, they endeavour to unmask the traitor. Sin is then forced into an uneasy alliance with the school bully, Velvet Von Darque. But can he trust her? And will COG try to bury him with the secrets he discovers?

  • Winner of the 2016 Storylines Tessa Duder Award. In 2018 it won the Sir Julius Vogel Award for Best Youth Novel and Best New Talent and was a Storylines Notable Book.
  • A fantastic steampunk adventure story for readers 12+, perfect for fans of Scott Westerfeld's Leviathan series and Philip Reeve's Mortal Engines series.
  • The Traitor and the Thief should delight readers at the younger end of the YA spectrum who enjoy quirky worldbuilding and stories that are more adventure and mystery than coming-of-age and romance (although there are hints of both). 4/5 stars.” Books+Publishing

About the author

Gareth Ward, a.k.a. The Great Wardini is a magician, hypnotist, storyteller, bookseller and author. He has worked as a Royal Marine Commando, Police Officer, Evil Magician and Zombie. He basically likes jobs where you get to wear really cool hats. He currently resides in Hawke’s Bay, New Zealand where he runs two independent bookshops, Wardini Books and Wardini Books Napier with his wife Louise. He has a goldfish called Luna, a dog called Tonks and is certain his letter from Hogwarts has been lost in the post. His first novel ,The Traitor and the Thief, a rip-roaring young adult Steampunk adventure, won the 2016 Storylines Tessa Duder Award, the 2018 Sir Julius Vogel Award for Best Youth Novel, a 2018 Storylines Notable Book Award and was a finalist in two categories at The New Zealand Book Awards for Children and Young Adults. His second novel, The Clockill and the Thief was released in August 2019.

ISBN: 9781925381504
Imprint: Walker Books Australia
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Paperback
Release Date: August 1, 2017
Dimensions: 129 x 198mm, 352pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $17.99
New Zealand RRP: $19.99
Stock Level: In Stock

Last updated on 12/01/20 at 23:02:53
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.