Books

The Seven Keys

By Allison Rushby

The spooky, action-packed and much-anticipated sequel to the award-winning The Turnkey.

Flossie Birdwhistle is the Turnkey at London’s Highgate Cemetery. Seven years have passed since Flossie saved her country from a ghostly invasion during World War II. Since then, things have been quiet. That is, until Flossie’s nemesis, Hugo Howsham, reveals a secret the pair have been keeping – the keys of the Magnificent Seven cemeteries can be combined to make a Turnkey not only mortal, but immortal. When Hugo Howsham begins stealing keys, the other Turnkeys turn against Flossie, trusting her no longer. With family, friends and her cemetery in danger, can Flossie find the inner strength to protect everything she has ever cared about?

  • Praise for The Turnkey from Books+Publishing: “Allison Rushby cleverly weaves a supernatural plot into a page-turning mystery with a fresh historical perspective and a strong heroine at its centre ... 4/5 stars.”
  • Will appeal to fans of Susan Green, Catherine Jinks, Judith Rossell and Neil Gaiman.
  • Allison's UK-set middle-grade novels, including The Seven Keys and The Mulberry Tree, have gained an international following.

About the author

Allison Rushby, the daughter of an author, was raised on a wholesome and steady diet of classic English literature. Some of her favourite books, re-read countless dog-eared times include Rumer Godden's The Dolls' House, Frances Hodgson Burnett's The Secret Garden, Dodie Smith's I Capture the Castle and Noel Streatfield's Shoes series. She has long been a fan of cities with long, winding histories, wild, overgrown cemeteries, red brick Victorian museums, foxes and ivy. She likes to write with a cup of Darjeeling tea by her side and a Devon Rex cat called Claudia curled up in her lap. Allison's books with Walker include the middle-grade novels The Turnkey and The Mulberry Tree.

ISBN: 9781760650797
Imprint: Walker Books Australia
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Paperback
Release Date: July 1, 2019
Dimensions: 129 x 198mm, 272pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $16.99
New Zealand RRP: $18.99
Stock Level: In Stock

Last updated on 01/07/19 at 01:15:00
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.