Books

The Runaways of Haddington Hall

By Vivian French

A high octane, high drama romp, following the adventures of Victorian laundry maid Minnie O'Sullivan and her unforgettable band of friends.

A high octane, high drama romp, following the adventures of Victorian laundry maid Minnie O'Sullivan and her unforgettable band of friends. After a series of misfortunes, Minnie O’Sullivan is whisked away to Haddington Hall: a nightmarish home for wayward girls. Bad becomes worse when the hall’s ruthless founder, Mrs Haddington, takes an instant dislike to brave, determined Minnie, and she’s in danger of losing everything… But Minnie has never backed down from a fight in her life, and she’s not about to start now! Irresistible characters and a compulsive plot with twists aplenty; Vivian French conjures up the very spirit of Dickensian England in a wonderful new novel for middle-grade readers. “Delightful … with its edge-of-your-seat pace, it deserves applause.” Sunday Times (Children's Book of the Week) on The Steam Whistle Theatre Company Vivian French is a writer of tremendous charm. Literary Review on The Steam Whistle Theatre Company “Storytelling at its best … a classic in the making.” The Scotsman on The Steam Whistle Theatre Company

  • An excellent companion to The Steam Whistle Theatre Company, which received brilliant reviews.
  • Historical storytelling at its finest, in the vein of Emma Carroll, Katherine Woodfine and Hilary McKay.
  • Packed with delightful period detail, The Shadows of Haddington Hall would be perfect as part of a KS2 English project – building towards the focus on 19th Century texts in Year 6.

About the author

Vivian French is a highly-acclaimed children’s author, whose many books include The Steam Whistle Theatre Company and The Dragon’s Breakfast. She is one of the most borrowed children’s authors in UK libraries, and was awarded the MBE for services to literature, literacy, illustration and the arts. Follow her on Twitter under the handle @fivekingdoms or visit her website: vivianfrench.com

ISBN: 9781406387537
Imprint: Walker
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Paperback
Release Date: March 2, 2022
Dimensions: 129 x 198mm, 256pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $18.99
New Zealand RRP: $21.99
Stock Level: Not Yet Published

Last updated on 03/09/21 at 01:54:46
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.