Books

The Rise of the Remarkables: The Thaumagician's Revenge

By Gareth Ward

The next crackingly paced, steampunk thrill ride from award-winning master of the genre, Gareth Ward.

Following on from the dramatic events of the first book in "The Rise of the Remarkables" duology, Brasswitch and Bot, we find Wrench and Bot on the hunt for Plum with the aid of Thirteen. Plum is more dangerous than ever and appears to be recruiting more aberrations – determined to re-open the rupture. Meanwhile, the events of the Minster Schism have drained Wrench of her magic and she begins lessons with Master Tranter in attempt to rekindle her powers. It is here that she meets Vexanna, Thirteen’s new apprentice thaumagician. They will all have their roles to play, as Wrench works to discover the truth about her past – and make it to her future alive.

  • The next high-stakes, action-packed sequel to Brasswitch and Bot from the author of The Traitor and the Thief, winner of the 2016 Storylines Tessa Duder Award, the 2018 Sir Julius Vogel Award for Best Youth Novel and Best New Talent.
  • A fantastic steampunk adventure story for readers 10+, perfect for fans of Scott Westerfeld's Leviathan series and Philip Reeve's Mortal Engines series.
  • Praise for Brasswitch and Bot: “. . .an exciting and thoroughly enjoyable coming of age story … Jam-packed with adventure, mystery, action and magic, it’s a highly original work that’s sure to enthral and delight.” (Reading Time)

About the author

Gareth Ward, a.k.a. The Great Wardini is a magician, hypnotist, storyteller, bookseller and author. He has worked as a Royal Marine Commando, Police Officer, Evil Magician and Zombie. He basically likes jobs where you get to wear really cool hats. He currently resides in Hawke’s Bay, New Zealand where he runs two independent bookshops, Wardini Books and Wardini Books Napier, with his wife Louise. He has a goldfish called Luna, a dog called Tonks and is certain his letter from Hogwarts has been lost in the post. His first novel, The Traitor and the Thief, a rip-roaring young adult Steampunk adventure, won the 2016 Storylines Tessa Duder Award, the 2018 Sir Julius Vogel Award for Best Youth Novel, a 2018 Storylines Notable Book Award and was a finalist in two categories at The New Zealand Book Awards for Children and Young Adults. His second novel, The Clockill and the Thief, was released in August 2019 and won the Sir Julius Vogel award for Best Youth Novel.

ISBN: 9781760654016
Imprint: Walker Books Australia
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding:
Release Date: August 4, 2021
Dimensions: 0 x 0mm, 352pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $16.99
New Zealand RRP: $18.99
Stock Level:

Last updated on 07/03/21 at 21:45:46
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.