Books

The Price Guide to the Occult

By Leslye Walton

From the author of The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender comes a haunting maelstrom of magic and murder in the lush, moody Pacific Northwest.

When Rona Blackburn landed on Anathema Island more than a century ago, her otherworldly skills might have benefited friendlier neighbors. Guilt and fear instead led the island’s original eight settlers to burn “the witch” out of her home. So Rona cursed them. Fast-forward one hundred–some years: All Nor Blackburn wants is to live an unremarkable teenage life. She has reason to hope: First, her supernatural powers, if they can be called that, are unexceptional. Second, her love life is nonexistent, which means she might escape the other perverse side effect of the matriarch’s backfiring curse, too. But then a mysterious book comes out, promising to cast any spell for the right price. Nor senses a storm coming and is pretty sure she’ll be smack in the eye of it. In her second novel, Leslye Walton spins a dark, mesmerizing tale of a girl stumbling along the path toward self-acceptance and first love, even as the Price Guide’s malevolent author — Nor’s own mother — looms and threatens to strangle any hope for happiness.

  • Another haunting, multi-generational saga from the hypnotic pen of Lesley Walton.
  • For fans of Kristen Cashore and Kami Garcia.
  • Ties into the popular occult revival in literature, movies, and television, employing the conflicted and searching teen psyche as a way to up the ante.

About the author

Leslye Walton was named a William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist for the publication of her debut novel, The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender. Born in the Pacific Northwest, she has an MA in writing. She lives in Seattle, Washington.

ISBN: 9780763691103
Imprint: Candlewick
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Hardback
Release Date: April 1, 2018
Dimensions: 139 x 209mm, 288pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $24.99
New Zealand RRP: $27.99
Stock Level: In Stock

Last updated on 02/04/18 at 23:46:15
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.