Books

The Name at the End of the Ladder

By Elena de Roo

No name means no escape…

Win the game to choose your name and free the players who remain. Twelve-year-old September is determined to choose an adventurous name for herself from the Name Bank – not like all her friends, who are named after flowers or trees. Soon she discovers that she has no choice, unless she can win an ancient and mysterious board game. And every roll of the dice leads her further into danger.

  • The first junior fiction novel from the award-winning author of The Rain Train (2010)
  • Ideal for fans of Jumanji, Zathura and The Phantom Tollbooth
  • "Highly recommended ... Refreshingly original, introducing a new universe, where friends must work together to fight against evil forces." ReadPlus

About the author

Elena de Roo is a New Zealand author who lives in a rather chaotic house with her husband, three teenage children, their granny and a cat. Since she was little she has always enjoyed writing poems and making up stories. After completing a degree in English, Elena went on to work as a research librarian and now has a varied collection of part-time work. It wasn’t until taking a short writing course five years ago, that she realised it might be possible to achieve her dream of becoming a published author. She has written several readers and her stories, poems and plays have appeared in The School Magazine. The Rain Train was her first picture book.

ISBN: 9781922244475
Imprint: Walker Books Australia
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Paperback
Release Date: September 1, 2014
Dimensions: 129 x 198mm, 272pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $14.99
New Zealand RRP: $16.99
Stock Level: In Stock

Last updated on 19/10/16 at 23:35:32
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.