The Infamous Ratsos Are Not Afraid

By Kara LaReau
Illustrated by Matt Myers

“Another tale for fledgling chapter book readers that highlights the profound value of kindness to others.”Booklist (starred review)

In the follow-up to the Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Book The Infamous Ratsos, Louie and Ralphie Ratso have a genius idea: if they clear out the lot down the street, they can use all the junk lying around to build makeshift games for a Big City FunTime Arcade! Everyone says the house next to the lot is haunted, but if Louie just pretends it’s not there, maybe he can ignore it. Ralphie’s head is not exactly in the game, either, because of some rumors that have been swirling around school. But they’re Ratsos, and like their dad, Big Lou, Ratsos aren’t afraid of anything — right?

  • A paperback edition of the second book in the chapter book series starring Louie and Ralphie, the infamous Ratso Brothers who are "bad at being bad", simultaneous with the publication of the third volume
  • Both very funny and surprisingly touching, this series — the first volume of which was a Geisel honor book — hits a pitch-perfect sweet spot for newly independent readers, especially the more reluctant ones.
  • Offers a thoughtful and sensitive approach to the timely topic of bullying.

About the author

Kara LaReau is the author of numerous picture books, as well as the middle grade novel The Unintentional Adventures of the Bland Sisters. She lives in Providence, Rhode Island.

About the illustrator

Matt Myers is the illustrator of E-I-E-I-O: How Old MacDonald Got His Farm with a Little Help from a Hen by Judy Sierra, and Pirate’s Perfect Pet by Beth Ferry, as well as many other books for young readers. Matt Myers lives in Charlotte, North Carolina.

ISBN: 9781536203684
Imprint: Candlewick
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Paperback
Release Date: February 1, 2019
Dimensions: 139 x 196mm, 96pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $9.99
New Zealand RRP: $12.99
Stock Level: In Stock

Last updated on 22/02/19 at 00:23:18
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.