Books

The Hired Girl

By Laura Amy Schlitz

Newbery Medalist Laura Amy Schlitz brings her delicious wit and keen eye to early twentieth-century America in a moving yet comedic tour de force.

A humorous coming-of-age story that will appeal to fans of Anne of Green Gables and Little Women. Fourteen-year-old Joan Skraggs, like the heroines in her beloved novels, yearns for real life and true love. But what hope is there for adventure, beauty or art on a remote farm in Pennsylvania where the work never ends? Over the summer of 1911, Joan pours her heart out into her diary as she seeks a new, better life for herself – because maybe, just maybe, a hired girl cleaning and cooking for six dollars a week can become what a farm girl could only dream of – a woman with a future. Newbery Medalist Laura Amy Schlitz relates Joan’s journey from the muck of the chicken coop to the comforts of a society household in Baltimore (Electricity! Carpet sweepers! Sending out the laundry!), taking readers on an exploration of feminism and housework; religion and literature; love and loyalty; cats, hats and bunions.

  • This masterful new novel from Newbery Medallist and New York Times bestseller Laura Amy Schlitz will appeal to the readers of A Drowned Maiden's Hair.
  • A humorous, light-hearted coming-of-age story with the timeless appeal of Anne of Green Gables and Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm. Readers will fall in love with this sparky heroine whose journey encompasses issues of class, religion, family and feminism.
  • A hardback gift edition with jacket.

About the author

Laura Amy Schlitz, author of Fire Spell, A Drowned Maiden's Hair and the Newbery Medal-winner Good Masters! Sweet Ladies!: Voices from a Medieval Village has spent most of her life working as a librarian and professional storyteller. She has also written plays for young people that have been performed in professional theatres all over the US. She lives in Baltimore, Maryland.

ISBN: 9781406361407
Imprint: Walker
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Hardback
Release Date: February 1, 2016
Dimensions: 152 x 216mm, 400pp
Stock Status: Out of Print
Australian RRP: $27.99
New Zealand RRP: $29.99
Stock Level: Out Of Stock

Last updated on 01/03/20 at 22:59:56
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.