Books

The Haunting of Jessop Rise

By Danny Weston

Nominated for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2018 A terrifying haunted house mystery. What are the spectral creatures that prowl in the shadows of Jessop Rise? Winner of the 2016 Scottish Children's Book Award.

Alone and penniless after his father is killed in a cotton mill accident, fourteen-year-old William faces the rest of his childhood in a brutal workhouse. Then his long-estranged uncle Seth sends for him, and William thinks his fortunes are changing. But arriving at Uncle Seth's grand house in North Wales, Jessop Rise, William encounters a ghostly figure. It soon becomes clear that the place is haunted by more than just one ghost. But who are the spectral creatures that prowl about the estate? What are they trying to tell William? And what is the dark secret that Uncle Seth has been keeping for so long? As William uncovers the clues, he finds himself caught up in a dark and terrifying mystery.

  • Weston is this year's winner of the Scottish Book Award
  • A terrifying Halloween read, filled with action and chills
  • Perfect for fans of Joseph Delaney, Darren Shan and Stephen Cole

About the author

Danny Weston is an Author Biography for children and young adults. He lives with his wife in Edinburgh.

ISBN: 9781783444618
Imprint: Andersen Press
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Paperback
Release Date: September 1, 2016
Dimensions: 129 x 198mm, 320pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $19.99
New Zealand RRP: $21.99
Stock Level: Out Of Stock

Last updated on 07/08/19 at 01:16:04
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.