Books

The Hand, the Eye and the Heart

By Zoe Marriott

From beloved fantasy writer Zoë Marriott comes an epic adventure about courage and gender identity set in a fairy-tale China.

“A rising star of fantasy fiction.” The Times For fans of Leigh Bardugo, Laini Taylor and Sarah J Maas Zhilan was assigned female at birth. Despite a gift for illusions, they know they are destined to live out their life within the confines of the women’s quarter. But when civil war sets the empire aflame, Zhilan is determined save their disabled father from the battlefield. By taking his place. Surviving brutal army training as a boy – Zhi – is only the first challenge. In the glittering court of the Land of Dragons, love and betrayal are two sides of the same smile, and soon the fate of a nation rests on Zhi’s shoulders. But to win, they must decide where their heart truly belongs…

  • Features themes of LGBTQQ, and gender identity and fluidity. Sensitivity readers consulted.
  • “Zoe Marriott has a high level of literary intelligence and is terrific at rebooting fairy tales with wonderful descriptions of the natural world.” The Times
  • "Richly imagined yet sharply topical, The Hand, the Eye and the Heart gripped me from the first sentence. You'll fall in love with Zhi." L. A. Weatherly, author of the Angel Trilogy

About the author

Zoë Marriott is a critically acclaimed and beloved fantasy writer. Her debut novel, The Swan Kingdom, was long-listed for the Branford Boase and selected as a USBBY Outstanding International Book. Shadows on the Moon won the prestigious Sasakawa Prize, an award gifted to a writer who promotes further understanding and cooperation between the peoples of Japan and the UK. It came third in the Lancashire Book of the Year Award and was also an American Junior Library Guild Selection. Zoë lives in Grimsby, Lincolnshire. Visit Zoë’s blog at thezoe-trope.blogspot.co.uk or her website at ZoeMarriott.com. Follow her on Twitter (@ZMarriott).

ISBN: 9781406383546
Imprint: Walker
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Paperback
Release Date: June 1, 2019
Dimensions: 129 x 198mm, 448pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $17.99
New Zealand RRP: $19.99
Stock Level: In Stock

Last updated on 03/09/19 at 02:53:12
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.