Books

Terrible True Tales from the Tower of London

By Sarah Kilby
Illustrated by Peter Cottrill

The history of the Tower of London – as told by the ravens that live there.

The ravens of the Tower of London bring its fascinating history to life, telling tales of gore, guts and great escapes. Perfect for fans of Horrible Histories, the book is illustrated throughout and packed with fascinating and funny stories that the Yeoman Warders would rather were kept secret from visitors, such as a daring attempt to steal the Crown Jewels, the polar bear who once lived at the Tower and the prisoner who tried to escape through his toilet.

  • In 2015 the Tower of London was visited by 2,600,296 people making it one of the most popular tourist attractions in the UK.
  • Perfect for Horrible Histories fans, this is a hilarious collection of gory and funny historical incidents, told from the witty perspective of the ravens.
  • Illustrated hardback – an ideal gift format and perfect for London displays and windows.

About the author

Historic Royal Palaces is an independent charity that manages some of the United Kingdom's unoccupied royal palaces, including the Tower of London and Hampton Court. Peter Cottrill was born in Liverpool and loved art from an early age. After a string of different jobs, he began illustrating books and has had two picture books published. Alongside illustrating, Peter now teaches at a college in London and practises Shiatsu.

ISBN: 9781406376883
Imprint: Walker
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Hardback
Release Date: September 1, 2017
Dimensions: 129 x 198mm, 128pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $19.99
New Zealand RRP: $22.99
Stock Level: Out Of Stock

Last updated on 09/04/20 at 05:55:21
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.