Sophie's Further Adventures

By Dick King-Smith
Illustrated by Hannah Shaw

Small but very determined, Sophie is everyone's favourite farmer-to-be! Now she is off on three more adventures in this bind-up of classic stories for young readers, from the beloved author of Babe.

From the beloved author of Babe come three more adventures from feisty farmer-to-be Sophie. Now whimsically re-imagined by the perceptive paintbrush of award-winning illustrator Hannah Shaw. In this book Sophie visits the farm, learns to ride a pony AND gets to visit Great Aunt Al in the Scottish Highlands! Sophie always makes a big impression, and these stories beautifully capture the dynamics of family life. Timeless adventures with a fresh, contemporary feel.

  • "Rich in humour with a tremendous understanding of what makes small children tick." Sunday Times
  • The timeless appeal of the forthright Sophie will find her a place in the hearts of early readers, and the story-per-chapter structure is ideal for building confidence.
  • This volume contains: Sophie in the Saddle, Sophie’s Lucky and Sophie is Seven.

About the author

Dick King-Smith (1922–2011) is one of the world's favourite children's book authors. He won the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize for The Sheep-Pig (later filmed as Babe), he was named Children's Book Author of the Year in 1991 and won the 1995 Children's Book Award for Harriet's Hare. In addition to the Sophie series, his titles for Walker include The Finger-Eater, Aristotle, The Twin Giants and two books about a very special pig: Lady Lollipop and Clever Lollipop.

About the illustrator

Hannah Shaw studied illustration at the University of Brighton and graduated in 2004. She has since created a number of critically acclaimed award-winning children’s books, including Evil Weasel, which won the Cambridgeshire Children's Picture Book Award. Her recent Stan Stinky series is the first of her own creations for older children. She also illustrated the popular Disgusting Sandwich by Gareth Edwards and The Great Hamster Massacre series by Katie Davies as well as The Fabulous Phartlehorn Affair by ML Peel. Hannah currently lives in Stroud, Gloucestershire. Visit her website at

ISBN: 9781406384697
Imprint: Walker
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Paperback
Release Date: October 1, 2019
Dimensions: 129 x 198mm, 352pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $16.99
New Zealand RRP: $18.99
Stock Level: Out Of Stock

Last updated on 28/02/21 at 20:34:56
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.