Books

Shadowghast

By Thomas Taylor
Illustrated by Thomas Taylor

A creepy magician with a shadowy act. A legend that goes back to the dawn of time. Eerie-on-Sea just got stranger. And darker...

On the eve of Ghastly Night, a hypnotic stage magician, Caliastra, checks in to Eerie-on-Sea's Grand Nautilus Hotel. She's arrived with her entourage to put on a show – and she claims to be related to Herbert Lemon. Caliastra's act is so shadowy and strange that Herbie's friend Violet wonders if dark forces are at work, but Herbie won't hear a word said against his new relation. Meanwhile, folk are disappearing from the town, and no one knows why. There is an Eerie legend that goes back to the dawn of time, about a creature made of darkness that devours the shadows of the living. Could the Shadowghast have really returned?

  • Herbie Lemon is a narrator to watch! Fresh storytelling in an original voice for fans of Lemony Snicket, The Storm-Keeper's Island and The Uncommoners.
  • Follow-up to the highly acclaimed Malamander, which was Waterstones Children's Book of the Month and The Times' Children's Book of the Week, and its sequel Gargantis, now out in paperback.
  • The Bookseller’s Fiona Noble describes Thomas Taylor as “A ferociously talented writer” and Malamander as “A wonderfully imaginative and atmospheric adventure, rich in myth and legend, which deserves all the buzz.”

About the author

Thomas Taylor is an award-winning author-illustrator for children. He illustrated the cover for the very first Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone and has since gone on to write and illustrate several picture books and young novels; most recently he illustrated Scarlett Hart: Monster Hunter, written by Marcus Sedgwick. This is his third title in the Legends of Eerie-on-Sea sequence; the first, Malamander, was published to huge acclaim in 2019 and was followed in 2020 with the equally popular Gargantis. Thomas lives on the south coast of England and can be found on Facebook and Twitter: @ThomasHTaylor

ISBN: 9781406386301
Imprint: Walker
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Paperback
Release Date: September 8, 2021
Dimensions: 129 x 198mm, 336pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $17.99
New Zealand RRP: $19.99
Stock Level: In Stock

Last updated on 19/09/21 at 23:55:34
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.