Books

See the Cat: Three Stories About a Dog

By David LaRochelle
Illustrated by Mike Wohnoutka

Move over, Spot. . . . Spoofing classic primers, Max the Dog talks back to the book in a twist that will have fans of funny early readers howling.

See Max. Max is not a cat—Max is a dog. But much to Max’s dismay, the book keeps instructing readers to “see the cat.” How can Max get through to the book that he is a DOG? In a trio of stories for beginning readers, author David LaRochelle introduces the excitable Max, who lets the book know in irresistibly emphatic dialogue that the text is not to his liking. Illustrator Mike Wohnoutka hilariously depicts the pup’s reactions to the narrator and to the wacky cast of characters who upend Max’s—and readers’—expectations as the three stories build to an immensely satisfying conclusion. Hooray, Max, hooray!

  • An early reader with a twist! Kids will love having expectations subverted at the end of each story
  • Bright illustrations and laugh-out-loud pacing will make this a favorite for fans of Elephant and Piggie or Chick and Brain
  • By the author and illustrator of the hilarious read-aloud, Moo!

About the author

David LaRochelle is the author of many books for young readers, including Isle of You, illustrated by Jaime Kim, and Moo!, illustrated by Mike Wohnoutka. He is the recipient of a Sid Fleischman Humor Award as well as a Bell Award for Early Literacy. See David LaRochelle in White Bear Lake, Minnesota.

About the illustrator

Mike Wohnoutka has illustrated more than twenty books for young readers, including Moo! by David LaRochelle. He is also the author and illustrator of several picture books, including Croc & Turtle. See Mike Wohnoutka in Minneapolis.

ISBN: 9781536204278
Imprint: Candlewick
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Hardback
Release Date: September 1, 2020
Dimensions: 165 x 228mm, 64pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $16.99
New Zealand RRP: $18.99
Stock Level: Not Yet Published

Last updated on 01/03/20 at 23:01:54
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.