Scarecrow Army: The ANZACs at Gallipoli

By Leon Davidson

**eBook Edition** They had gone looking for the adventure of a lifetime.

As part of a World War I campaign, thousands of Australians and New Zealanders landed at an unnamed cove on the Gallipoli Peninsula. They had come to fight the Turks. They thought the battle would be over in three days. Months later they were still in the trenches they dug at the landing. Scarecrow Army: The Anzacs at Gallipoli is an engaging non-fiction book for young adult readers by award-winning New Zealand author Leon Davidson. Part of the history series The Drum, in 2006 it won both the Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) Eve Pownall Award for Information Books and the Non-Fiction category of the New Zealand Post Children’s Book Awards. “Heartbreaking and evocative … This fine book is a worthy offering about a complex and sensitive subject.” Australian Book Review “A terrific book.” The West Australian “An admirable starting point for young people wishing to peel back the veil of history.” Sydney Morning Herald “Will long be remembered by the reader … Highly recommended.” Magpies magazine “Recommended to anyone who is interested in a mix of action, war and history.” The Age “Davidson has researched his subject thoroughly and the book leaves a lasting impression.” ReadPlus “An important offering.” Aussie Reviews

About the author

Leon Davidson is a critically acclaimed writer who brings the stories of war to life for his readers. His books have all won major awards in New Zealand and Australia. Primarily written for children and young adults, they are equally accessible to adults. His books are also widely read in classrooms and used in teaching. He lives with his family in Wellington, where he is a primary school teacher.

ISBN: 9781925126587
Imprint: Black Dog Books
Distributor: Walker Australia
Release Date: February 1, 2015
Dimensions: 0 x 0mm, 192pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $15.99
New Zealand RRP: $16.99
Stock Level:

Last updated on 31/10/18 at 00:13:44
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.