Books

Rise of ZomBert

By Kara LaReau
Illustrated by Ryan Andrews

A tail of the fursome undead!

While helping her best friend Danny film his latest horror flick, Mellie discovers a scraggly cat behind a dumpster outside the YummCo Foods factory. Mellie names the stray Bert and hides him in her room, knowing her parents won’t let her keep him. But soon Bert has decapitated all her stuffed animals, and before long he is leaving the headless corpses of birds and mice as gifts for her. Danny is convinced the cat is a zombie, living on the brains of its victims. But is that what's really going on? Award-winning author Kara LaReau lets loose a fresh and sharply funny new mystery, with an irresistible touch of the macabre. Fans of creepy stories and animal lovers alike will devour this fast-moving adventure in one heady gulp.

  • A Stranger Things meets E.T. mystery story for chapter book readers, with a fresh and modern voice.
  • Perfect for fans of Frankenweenie, it's smart, funny and ever-so-slightly creepy, with two relatable protagonists.
  • Appeal to reluctant readers.

About the author

Kara LaReau is a writer and editor from Connecticut. Her two latest series are The Infamous Ratsos, chapter books illustrated by Matt Myers, and The Unintentional Adventures of the Bland Sisters, a middle grade trilogy illustrated by Jen Hill. She is also the author of several picture books, including Ugly Fish, Otto: The Boy Who Loved Cars and No Slurping, No Burping! A Tale of Table Manners. She now lives in Providence, Rhode Island.

About the illustrator

Ryan Andrews is an illustrator, cartoonist and comics artist. He has previously illustrated The Dollar Kids by Jennifer Richard Jacobson (Candlewick Press) and refreshed covers for several books by Avi (Scholastic). Two of his web comics have been nominated for Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards. He lives in Fukuoka, Japan.

ISBN: 9781406395334
Imprint: Walker
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Paperback
Release Date: January 5, 2022
Dimensions: 129 x 198mm, 144pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $14.99
New Zealand RRP: $16.99
Stock Level: Not Yet Published

Last updated on 12/07/21 at 00:49:01
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.