Books

Racing Manhattan

By Terence Blacker

Nominated for the Carnegie Medal. A girl. A racehorse. And a world that doesn't care.

Jay Barton has spent her life on the outside, being overlooked and mocked for her tomboy ways. All she wants to do is ride her favourite pony, which belongs to her much wealthier cousin. But then Jay shows a talent for winning the illegal pony races her uncle takes her to, and he starts to push her to take more and more risks. At 15, Jay decides to run away, to live the life of a stable hand. Her fortunes are changed when she meets Manhattan: a pedigree grey racehorse who has used up all her chances and is now neglected and despised. Jay recognises a fellow misfit. She fights to give Manhattan one last opportunity to show she is the champion she was born to be. Together, they face a world of prejudice and cruelty and fight back the only way they know – by becoming the best.

  • A modern-day National Velvet. Perfect for readers who love Lauren St John and Pippa Funnell.
  • Terence Blacker was a jockey in his youth and has fantastic insider knowledge of the world he writes about

About the author

Terence Blacker read English at Cambridge and worked in publishing before becoming a full-time writer during the 1980s. He has written numerous books for adults, teens and young readers including the Ms Wiz series. He also writes for national newspapers, and is a regular broadcaster and performing musician. He lives in Norfolk.

ISBN: 9781783444014
Imprint: Andersen Press
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Paperback
Release Date: June 2, 2016
Dimensions: 129 x 198mm, 352pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $19.99
New Zealand RRP: $21.99
Stock Level: Out Of Stock

Last updated on 07/08/19 at 01:16:04
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.