Pigeon Summer

By Ann Turnbull

Times are hard but a young girl clings to her dreams in this powerful and poignant historical novel.

It is 1930, the height of the Great Depression. Mary Dyer’s father has left home in search of work, leaving his beloved racing pigeons in Mary’s care – much to her mother's disapproval. During that long, hard summer there is barely enough money for bread, let alone pigeon feed, yet Mary clings to her dreams of racing glory, propelling her into ever deeper conflict with her mother.

  • The first engaging novel in the Pigeon Summer trilogy, following the fortunes of the Dyer children, Mary, Lennie and Doreen, growing up in a Shropshire mining town before and during World War II.
  • Shortlisted for the 1992 Smarties Book Prize and the WH Smith Mind Boggling Books Award, as well as being dramatized for TV and radio.
  • "Buoyant, direct and unsentimental." - Guardian

About the author

Ann Turnbull has always loved reading and knew from the age of ten that she wanted to be a writer. Her numerous books for young readers include No Friend of Mine, Room for a Stranger, Alice in Love and War, as well as her Quaker trilogy – No Shame, No Fear (shortlisted for the Guardian Children's Book Award and Whitbread Award) Forged in the Fire and Seeking Eden. For younger children, she has also written Greek Myths, illustrated by Sarah Young. Ann lives in Madeley, near Telford, Shropshire. Visit her website at


1992: Nestle Children's Book Prize/Nestle Smarties Book Prize

Nestle Smarties Book Prize - Shortlisted

ISBN: 9781406352498
Imprint: Walker
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Paperback
Release Date: March 1, 2014
Dimensions: 129 x 198mm, 144pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $14.99
New Zealand RRP: $16.99
Stock Level: Out Of Stock

Last updated on 24/06/18 at 23:44:56
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.