By Pete Hautman

“Stuey’s story will set imaginations spinning with possibilities about other worlds, ancient sins, and the power of truth.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Hatred combined with lies and secrets can break the world.” Grandpa Zach used to say that before he died, but Stuey never really knew what he meant. It was kind of like how he used to talk about quantum physics or how he used to say ghosts haunted their overgrown golf course. But then one day, after Stuey and his best friend, Elly Rose, spend countless afternoons in the deadfall in the middle of the woods, something totally unbelievable happens. As Stuey and Elly Rose struggle to come to grips with their lives after that reality-splitting moment, all the things Grandpa Zach used to say start to make a lot more sense. A 2019 Edgar Award Winner, this is a book about memory, loss, and the destructive nature of secrets, but also about the way friendship, truth, and perseverance have the ability to sew a torn-apart world back together.

  • Otherwood received starred reviews from Publishers Weekly and Kirkus Reviews, and was a 2019 Edgar Award winner
  • Master world-builder Pete Hautman has created a wholly accessible and engaging sort of fantasy for middle-grade readers
  • Now in paperback this gripping story is, at once, a crime story, a coming of age tale, and a fantasy about parallel worlds with a wholly satisfying ending

About the author

Pete Hautman is the author of many books for young adults and adults, including the National Book Award–winning Godless, the Klaatu Diskos trilogy, and Eden West. His most recent book for middle-grade readers is Slider, which Booklist lauded for its “crystalline prose, delectable detail, and rip-roaring humor.” Pete Hautman divides his time between Wisconsin and Minnesota.

ISBN: 9781536215793
Imprint: Candlewick
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Paperback
Release Date: January 6, 2021
Dimensions: 139 x 209mm, 320pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $16.99
New Zealand RRP: $18.99
Stock Level: Not Yet Published

Last updated on 17/08/20 at 01:22:18
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.