Take a sneak peek inside One Funky Monkey

Download a One Funky Monkey Colouring Sheet

One-Funky-Monkey-Colouring-Sheet.pdf (Adobe PDF - 259Kb)

One Funky Monkey

By Stacey McCleary
Illustrated by Sue deGennaro

A riotous rock 'n' roll animal counting picture book.

One funky monkey as though in a trance, moving and grooving he started to dance … as do the rest of the animals. One Funky Monkey is a counting book that features some very funky animals engaging in various dances – from hip-hopping elephants to jiving giraffes, moonwalking meerkats and 'lion' dancing lions. Ultimately they all join a conga line as we count through all the animals one by one.

  • Incorporates musical movement and counting into one book.
  • Classic, clean illustrations captures the fun of Funky Monkey and the other animals.
  • Notable Books, Early Childhood Category, Children’s Council of Australia, Book of the Year Awards, 2011.

About the author

Stacey McCleary is the acclaimed author of the picture books When is it Time and What Makes Me Me (both illustrated by Sally Rippin). She has written for newspapers and made documentaries for the ABC.

About the illustrator

Sue deGennaro studied film at university, learnt how to weld and draw at art school, and moved to Sydney to join the circus. She worked and performed with many touring companies as an aerialist and finished her career working in an all-girl flying trapeze troupe. She now lives in Melbourne with her partner and two girls. Her days are spent writing stories of things that make her giggle and painting pictures to stick on the fridge. Her published titles include, "The Princess and the Packet of Frozen Peas", "The Smallest Dog of All" and the future publication written by Jackie French "The Tomorrow Book".

ISBN: 9781921720390
Imprint: Walker Books Australia
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Paperback
Release Date: October 1, 2011
Dimensions: 215 x 260mm, 32pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $16.99
New Zealand RRP: $18.99
Stock Level: Out Of Stock

Last updated on 23/01/18 at 00:19:48
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.