Once Upon a Tune

By James Mayhew
Illustrated by James Mayhew

Six wonderful stories that inspired world-famous music, accompanied by brilliant illustrations

Once Upon a Tune brings you six wonderful stories from many lands, all of which inspired great music. You can battle trolls with Peer Gynt in The Hall of the Mountain King; grapple with a magic broom in The Sorcerer’s Apprentice, meet the evil Witch of the North in The Swan of Tuonela, sail the seven seas with Sinbad the Sailor in Scheherazade; be a prince disguised as a bee in The Flight of the Bumblebee and become a fearless hero in William Tell. The stories are excitingly told and stunningly illustrated by James Mayhew, who is famous for bringing live classical music, art and storytelling to families across the UK. There are also Musical Notes where you can find out more about the stories and music, plus James’s recommended recordings to download and listen to.

  • An introduction and companion to some of the world's best-loved pieces of classical music
  • High production values help to make it an ideal gift book
  • Key to downloading the tunes included

About the author

James Mayhew has been creating books for children for over 30 years, including the Kate Greenaway nominated Mrs Noah’s Pockets, and the best-selling Katie and Ella Bella series. He loves experimenting with different techniques and finding just the right approach for each new project. Alongside his work in publishing, James works with a huge variety of orchestras and musicians, presenting highly acclaimed concerts that combine music, story and art, created live on stage. He has performed all over the UK, including the Royal Albert Hall, illustrating and illuminating classics like Scheherazade and William Tell.

ISBN: 9781913074036
Imprint: Otter-Barry Books
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Hardback
Release Date: September 8, 2021
Dimensions: 249 x 289mm, 96pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $39.99
New Zealand RRP: $42.99
Stock Level: Not Yet Published

Last updated on 21/02/21 at 22:21:05
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.