Books

Maybe a Fox

By Kathi Appelt, Alison McGhee

Worlds collide spectacularly when Newbery and National Book Award finalist Kathi Appelt and Pulitzer Prize nominee and #1 New York Times bestseller Alison McGhee team up to create a fantastical, heartbreaking and gorgeous tale about two sisters, a

Sylvie and Jules, Jules and Sylvie. Better than just sisters, better than best friends. Jules’ favourite thing is collecting rocks, and Sylvie’s is running – fast. But Sylvie is too fast, and when she runs to the most dangerous part of the river one snowy morning to throw in a wish rock, she is so fast that no one sees what happens when she disappears. At that very moment, in another part of the woods, a shadow fox is born: half of the spirit world, half of the animal world. She, too, is fast, and she senses danger. When Jules goes to throw one last wish rock into the river for her lost sister, the human and shadow worlds collide with unexpected consequences. Written in alternate voices – one Jules, the other the fox – this searingly beautiful tale tells of one small family’s moment of heartbreak as it unfolds into something epic, mythic, shimmering and, most of all, hopeful.

  • A touching and powerful contemporary story of sisterly love and grief, with a twist of magical realism
  • A beautifully constructed, emotionally resonant piece of writing, perfect for fans of Wonder, A Boy Called Hope and Counting by Sevens
  • Written as an alternating narrative by two critically acclaimed US middle grade authors

About the author

Kathi Appelt is the author of the Newbery Honoree, National Book Award finalist and bestselling The Underneath as well as the National Book Award finalist The True Blue Scouts of Sugar Man Swamp, Keeper, and many picture books, including Counting Crows. She has two grown-up children and lives in College Station, Texas, with her husband. Visit her at KathiAppelt.com. Alison McGhee is the New York Times bestselling author of Someday, as well as Firefly Hollow, Little Boy, So Many Days, Bye-Bye Crib, A Very Brave Witch, and the Bink and Gollie books, which are co-written with Kate DiCamillo. Her other children’s books include All Rivers Flow to the Sea and Snap. She lives in Minneapolis, Minnesota; you can visit her at AlisonMcGhee.com.

ISBN: 9781406372892
Imprint: Walker
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Paperback
Release Date: March 1, 2017
Dimensions: 129 x 198mm, 272pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $16.99
New Zealand RRP: $18.99
Stock Level: In Stock

Last updated on 04/06/17 at 23:35:24
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.