Books

Magrit

By Lee Battersby
Illustrated by Amy Daoud

**eBook Edition** A wonderfully strange yet poignant tale of accepting the truth about oneself.

Magrit lives in an abandoned cemetery. She is as forgotten as the tiny graveyard that surrounds her. One night a passing stork drops a strange bundle into the graveyard. Master Puppet, her friend and advisor, tells her it is an awful, ugly, terrible thing and that she should get rid of it. But Magrit has other ideas. Magrit is an evocative book for younger readers by award-winning Australian author Lee Battersby. This wonderfully strange yet poignant story of accepting the truth about oneself is perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, David Almond and fantasy and horror novels.

  • Winner of the 2017 ABDA Best Designed Children’s Fiction Book, a CBCA Notable Book, and short-listed for the 2017 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards and the 2016 Aurealis Awards.
  • “A triumph of originality … A blissfully dark, philosophical thriller with a big heart.” The Times
  • “Powerful and clever. 5/5 stars.” Books+Publishing

About the author

Lee Battersby is the author of several adult novels and over 70 short stories, published in Australia, the US and Europe. His work has been praised for its consistent attention to voice and narrative muscle, and has resulted in a number of awards, including the Aurealis, Australia Shadows and Australia SF “Ditmar” gongs. Lee lives in Mandurah, Western Australia, with his wife, writer Lyn Battersby and an increasingly weird mob of kids. He’s been a stand-up comic, tennis coach, cartoonist, poet, and tax officer in previous times, and he currently works as Arts Officer for a local council, where he gets to play with artists all day. Magrit is his first novel with Walker Books Australia.

About the illustrator

After graduating from the University of Technology Sydney in 2009, Amy spent time in a handful of design studios before accepting the role as Junior Designer at Walker Books Australia in 2011. Since then, she has worked across a diverse range of genres, creating covers and internal design for junior fiction, young adult and non-fiction titles. Working as Designer today, Amy now also art directs illustrators on picture book titles from storyboard to finished art. Magrit is her first book.

ISBN: 9781922077127
Imprint: Walker Books Australia
Distributor: Walker Australia
Binding:
Release Date: March 1, 2016
Dimensions: 0 x 0mm, 160pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $11.99
New Zealand RRP: $13.99
Stock Level:

Last updated on 25/03/20 at 21:58:09
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.