Books

Magrit

By Lee Battersby
Illustrated by Amy Daoud

An award-winning, evocative book for younger readers by Lee Battersby and Amy Daoud.

Magrit lives in an abandoned cemetery. She is as forgotten as the tiny graveyard that surrounds her. One night a passing stork drops a strange bundle into the graveyard. Master Puppet, her friend and advisor, tells her it is an awful, ugly, terrible thing and that she should get rid of it. But Magrit has other ideas … This wonderfully strange yet poignant story of accepting the truth about oneself is perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and David Almond.

  • Winner of the 2017 ABDA Best Designed Children’s Fiction Book, a CBCA Notable Book, and short-listed for the 2017 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards and the 2016 Aurealis Awards.
  • “A triumph of originality … A blissfully dark, philosophical thriller with a big heart.” The Times
  • “Powerful and clever. 5/5 stars.” Books+Publishing

About the author

Lee Battersby is the author of several adult novels and over 70 short stories, published in Australia, the US and Europe. His work has been praised for its consistent attention to voice and narrative muscle, and has resulted in a number of awards, including the Aurealis, Australia Shadows and Australia SF “Ditmar” gongs. Lee lives in Mandurah, Western Australia, with his wife, writer Lyn Battersby and an increasingly weird mob of kids. He’s been a stand-up comic, tennis coach, cartoonist, poet, and tax officer in previous times, and he currently works as Arts Officer for a local council, where he gets to play with artists all day. Magrit is his first novel with Walker Books Australia.

About the illustrator

Amy Daoud is a freelance book designer based in Sydney. Her publishing career began in 2011 when she joined Walker Books Australia where she spent six and a half years creating covers and internal design for children’s illustrated books, junior fiction and young adult titles. In 2016, Amy was shortlisted for the Young Designer of the Year at the Australian Book Design Awards. Magrit is her first book.

ISBN: 9781760650896
Imprint: Walker Books Australia
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Paperback
Release Date: March 1, 2019
Dimensions: 129 x 198mm, 160pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $14.99
New Zealand RRP: $16.99
Stock Level: In Stock

Last updated on 09/12/19 at 23:12:53
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.