Books

Johnny Ball: Accidental Football Genius

By Matt Oldfield

From the author of Ultimate Football Heroes comes the first book in the new Johnny Ball series, perfect reading for football-mad kids.

Johnny Ball LOVES football. He loves reading about it, talking about it, watching it – and he loves playing it too. He’s a good player, but not quite good enough to make the Tissbury Primary School team for the super-huge Under-11s County Cup. But never mind, because their clueless coach, Mr Mann, has a special role for Johnny: ASSISTANT MANAGER! With only Grandpa George’s old scarf, a "pocket" notebook and his brilliant football brain, can our football genius lead the Tissbury Primary team all the way to County Cup glory?

  • New funny fiction series perfect for fans of Kid Normal, Football School, Tom Palmer's Football Academy and Charlie Fry.
  • Written by the bestselling author of the Ultimate Football Heroes series of biographies, which have sold 400,000 copies through TCM.
  • Contemporary cast of school characters and fun, accessible writing style will make the series appeal to football-mad kids up and down the country.

About the author

Matt Oldfield grew up in Southampton, playing football with his brother Tom. The two brothers are the authors of the bestselling Ultimate Football Heroes series – fun football biographies that tell the exciting life stories of superstars like Gareth Bale, Lionel Messi and Mo Salah, from the playground through to the pitch. The Johnny Ball books are Matt's first fiction series. He lives in North London.

About the illustrator

Tim Wesson draws in for both children and adults. He illustrates for France Magazine every month and has also illustrated for other clients including Habitat, SWATCH, Paperchase, BBC, Peagreen and many others. He lives in Suffolk.

ISBN: 9781406391268
Imprint: Walker
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Paperback
Release Date: August 1, 2020
Dimensions: 129 x 198mm, 208pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $12.99
New Zealand RRP: $14.99
Stock Level: In Stock

Last updated on 21/01/21 at 22:50:57
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.