Books

Jabberwalking

By Juan Felipe Herrera
Illustrated by Juan Felipe Herrera

Juan Felipe Herrera, the first Mexican-American Poet Laureate in the USA, is sharing secrets: how to turn your wonder at the world around you into weird, wild, incandescent poetry.

Can you walk and talk at the same time? How about Jabber Walk? Can you write and draw and walk and journal all at the same time? If not, you’re in luck: exuberant, blue-cheesy cilantro man Juan Felipe Herrera, Poet Laureate of the United States, is here to teach you everything he knows about being a real-life, bonified, jabberwalking poet! Jabberwalkers write and speak for themselves and others no matter where their feet may take them — to jabberwalk is to be a poet on the move. And there’s no stopping once you’re a Jabberwalker, writing fast, fast, fast, scribble-poem-burbles-on-the-run. Scribble what you see! Scribble what you hear! It’s all out there — vámonos!

  • Aspirational poets of all ages will enjoy this book on how to write poetry while going about daily life.
  • Fans of US Poet Laureate, Juan Felipe Herrera, will treasure this "one-on-one" lesson straight from the master himself on his writing process.
  • Lovers of words, books about writing and words, poetry lovers, journalers, and those interested in word play of all kinds will look forward to adding this book to their collection.

About the author

Juan Felipe Herrera is a poet, performance artist, and activist. The son of migrant farm workers, he was the U.S. Poet Laureate from 2015–2017. Herrera has published more than a dozen collections of poetry, in addition to short stories, young adult novels, and children’s literature. Juan Felipe Herrera lives in California.

ISBN: 9781536201406
Imprint: Candlewick
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Hardback
Release Date: May 1, 2018
Dimensions: 230 x 250mm, 144pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $29.99
New Zealand RRP: $32.99
Stock Level: In Stock

Last updated on 03/05/18 at 23:52:53
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.