Books

Hour of the Bees

By Lindsay Eagar

A beautifully written debut novel that weaves together magic and reality, about a girl's relationship with her mentally ill grandfather.

This powerful debut novel delicately blurs the line between truth and fiction as Carol unravels the fantastical stories of her mentally ill grandfather. When she and her family move to his deserted ranch in order to transfer him to a care home, Carol struggles to cope with the suffocating heat and the effects of her grandfather's dementia. Bees seem to be following her around, but the drought means this is impossible. She must be imagining things. Yet when her grandfather chooses her as the subject for his stories – tales of a magical healing tree, a lake, and the grandmother she never knew – Carol sees glimmers of something special in what her parents dismiss as Serge's madness. As she rethinks her roots and what she thought she knew about her family, Carol comes to the realization that Serge's past is quickly catching up with her present. A stunning coming-of-age story.

  • A debut coming-of-age novel by a powerful new talent.
  • A sensitive exploration of mental illness, family bonds, death and dying, and ethnic heritage.
  • Perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo and Meg Medina s The Girl Who Could Silence the Wind.

About the author

Hour of the Bees is Lindsay Eagar's first novel. A classically trained pianist and un-classically trained rock guitarist, Lindsay lives in Utah with her young daughter. Visit her on Twitter @lindsaymccall

ISBN: 9781406368154
Imprint: Walker
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Paperback
Release Date: March 1, 2016
Dimensions: 129 x 198mm, 368pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $16.99
New Zealand RRP: $18.99
Stock Level: In Stock

Last updated on 24/06/18 at 23:45:30
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.