Books

Gargantis

By Thomas Taylor
Illustrated by Thomas Taylor

There's a storm raging in Eerie-on-Sea. Has the mighty Gargantis come back from the deep...?

When an ancient bottle is found washed up on the beach after a ferocious electrical storm, all the residents of Eerie-on-Sea seem to want it ... but should they in fact fear it? Legend has it that the bottle contains an extraordinary secret that spells doom for the whole of Eerie-on-Sea. Could it be true that the vast sea creature Gargantis has awoken from her slumbers, and is causing the large cracks that are appearing all across the town? Finding themselves entrusted with the bottle, Herbie and Violet discover they will need to ride the terrible storm and pacify the creature if they want to save Eerie-on-Sea from sliding into the ocean and being lost for ever.

  • Herbie Lemon is a narrator to watch! Fresh storytelling in an original voice for fans of Lemony Snicket, The Storm-Keeper's Island and The Uncommoners.
  • Sequel to the highly acclaimed Malamander, which was Waterstones Children's Book of the Month and The Times' Children's Book of the Week and has sold sixteen foreign editions to date.
  • The Bookseller’s Fiona Noble describes Thomas Taylor as “A ferociously talented writer” and Malamander as “A wonderfully imaginative and atmospheric adventure, rich in myth and legend, which deserves all the buzz.”

About the author

Thomas Taylor is an award-winning author-illustrator for children. He illustrated the cover for the very first Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone and has since gone on to write and illustrate several picture books and young novels; most recently he illustrated Scarlett Hart: Monster Hunter, written by Marcus Sedgwick. This is his second title in the Legends of Eerie-on-Sea sequence; the first, Malamander, was published to huge acclaim in 2019. He lives on the south coast of England and can be found on Facebook and Twitter: @ThomasHTaylor

ISBN: 9781406386295
Imprint: Walker
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Paperback
Release Date: May 1, 2020
Dimensions: 129 x 198mm, 352pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $17.99
New Zealand RRP: $19.99
Stock Level: In Stock

Last updated on 07/05/20 at 00:22:16
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.