Books

Fat Angie

By e.E. Charlton-Trujillo

Winner of a 2014 Stonewall Book Award Her sister was captured in Iraq, she’s the resident laughingstock at school, and her therapist tells her to count instead of eat. Can a daring new girl in her life really change anything?

Angie is broken — by her can’t-be-bothered mother, by her high-school tormenters, and by being the only one who thinks her varsity-athlete-turned-war-hero sister is still alive. Hiding under a mountain of junk food hasn’t kept the pain (or the shouts of “crazy mad cow!”) away. Having failed to kill herself — in front of a gym full of kids — she’s back at high school just trying to make it through each day. That is, until the arrival of KC Romance, the kind of girl who doesn’t exist in Dryfalls, Ohio. A girl who is one hundred and ninety-nine percent wow! A girl who never sees her as Fat Angie, and who knows too well that the package doesn’t always match what’s inside. With an offbeat sensibility, mean girls to rival a horror classic, and characters both outrageous and touching, this darkly comic anti-romantic romance will appeal to anyone who likes entertaining and meaningful fiction.

  • This novel offers that rare combination of hip-smart voice and true heart. With a wealth of cultural references, contemporary teen lingo, current themes, and heartbreaking but hopeful storyline, this book will appeal to a broad audience.
  • Bullying, the war in Iraq, absent parents, obesity, basketball, coming out as gay, cutting, and first love are just a few of the many themes expertly woven into this extraordinary narrative.
  • Sure to appeal to fans of Libba Bray, John Green, and Chris Crutcher.

About the author

e. E. Charlton-Trujillo is an award-winning filmmaker and YA novelist. She lives in Cincinnati, Ohio.

ISBN: 9780763661199
Imprint: Candlewick
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Hardback
Release Date: June 1, 2013
Dimensions: 133 x 196mm, 272pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $19.99
New Zealand RRP: $22.99
Stock Level: Out Of Stock

Last updated on 18/12/19 at 03:13:36
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.