Elmer and the Bedtime Story

By David McKee
Illustrated by David McKee

It's bedtime with Elmer! Make up your own bedtime story in the 29th Elmer tale.

The latest Elmer story from master picture book maker, David McKee - winner of the BookTrust Lifetime Achievement award, and the 2020 British Book Awards Nibbies Illustrator of the Year. It's bedtime, and Elmer's looking after two baby elephants. But how will he get them to sleep? A good walk will do it, Elmer thinks. But as they walk past their friends, everyone in the jungle seems to think he should tell them a bedtime story, and they each have their own favourites. What's yours?

  • Each of the jungle animals has their favourite story, but we only get to hear the titles (e.g. The Story of the Vanishing Biscuit) - great for educational purposes, children can make up their own versions.
  • The twenty-ninth original Elmer picture book, this time it's the perfect bedtime story about bedtime stories!
  • Elmer celebrates diversity, being different, and accepting who you - and others - are.

About the author

David McKee is the creator of well-known characters including King Rollo, Mr Benn and Elmer the Patchwork Elephant, which is now published in more than 60 languages and has its own successful global merchandise programme. David was born in Devon and went to Plymouth Art College, where he had a traditional training. On leaving college he drew regularly for Punch, Reader’s Digest, and The Times Educational Supplement. His drawings were influenced especially by Saul Steinberg and Andre Francois. In 2020 David won the British Book Awards Illustrator of the Year Award and BookTrust’s Lifetime Achievement Award. He lives in the South of France and in London.

ISBN: 9781839130946
Imprint: Andersen Press
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Hardback
Release Date: September 8, 2021
Dimensions: 239 x 275mm, 32pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $29.99
New Zealand RRP: $32.99
Stock Level: Not Yet Published

Last updated on 18/04/21 at 22:46:24
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.