Dear Ugly Sisters

By Laura Mucha
Illustrated by Tania Rex

A varied, effervescent and thought-provoking debut collection from a poet already well-known through anthologies, websites, literary events and poetry workshops

Tonight I fancy a flight, so I shuffle my short feathers and jump. Original, dazzling and unconventional, this brilliant first solo collection has a surprise on every page. Go on a night flight, have a monster’s lunch, immerse yourself in birdsong. Shout out an Apatosaurus rap before checking out Alexander Fleming’s petri dish. Find fairy tales with a twist, poems to make you laugh – and reflective poems to think about. Full of variety, wit and warmth, this is a spectacular debut from a poet to watch!

  • Rich in the kind of warm humour that children enjoy
  • Compulsively readable – sometimes shoutable!
  • Stimulating, irreverent and thought-provoking

About the author

Laura Mucha is an award-winning poet, author and speaker. She has won two international poetry prizes (the Caterpillar Poetry Prize 2016 and the inaugural YorkMix Poems for Children 2019), and her effervescent and thought-provoking poems have been published around the world. She also writes for adults, and her debut book Love Factually / We Need to Talk About Love was published in 2019. Dear Ugly Sisters is her first book for children. Laura lives with her husband and son in London. You can read and listen to more of her work at @lauramucha.

About the illustrator

Tania Rex was born and raised in Vilnius, Lithuania and finds it to be one of the most inspiring cities. She graduated in Graphic Design from Vilnius Academy of art and began her career designing book covers and children’s magazines. She is a full-time illustrator and lives in Vilnius.

ISBN: 9781913074791
Imprint: Otter-Barry Books
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Paperback
Release Date: November 5, 2020
Dimensions: 129 x 198mm, 96pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $18.99
New Zealand RRP: $21.99
Stock Level: In Stock

Last updated on 09/11/20 at 00:01:40
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.