Books

Cinderfella

By Malachy Doyle
Illustrated by Matt Hunt

To all the brothers at Number 12. You're invited to Kayleigh's party. Dress fancy. Come fancy. Dance!

Once upon a time, there lived Cinderfella – a little boy, forever bossed around by his two older brothers, Gus and Gareth. “Turn up the TV! Shine our scooters!" the brothers cry. "Finish our homework!” But on the day of our story, Kayleigh, the town's kick-fastic karate champion, is having a party, and Cinderfella is determined to dream big, dress fancy and DANCE. He’ll just need a little help along the way from his fairy dog-mother, Ruff – woof! A feel-good twist on the classic fairytale, brought to life with fresh vision and huge humour by Matt Hunt.

  • A feel-good fairy tale twist, with a boy in the title role, a smart, confident girl as the Princess Charming, and a little dog playing the part of the Fairy Dog-Mother.
  • Challenges gender stereotypes and shows us that both girls and boys can do what they love, and take their fate into their own hands...
  • Full of funny modernizations – this is Cinderella for the twenty-first century child, and perfect for fans of Alex T. Smith’s Little Red and Deborah Underwood’s Interstellar Cinderella.

About the author

Malachy Doyle is the acclaimed author of Digger and Lew, Big Pig, Teddybear Blue, Antonio on the Other Side of the World, Getting Smaller and Too Noisy, illustrated by Ed Vere. His first teenage novel, Georgie, won the Tir na n-Og prize and his picture book, Cow, won an English Association Award for non-fiction. He also won the 2002 White Raven Award for Hungry! Hungry! He lives with his family (and his cat, dog, ducks and hens) in County Donegal, Ireland. Find Malachy online at malachydoyle.com. Matt Hunt graduated from the University of Birmingham with a degree in Fine Art, before becoming an illustrator. His picture books include Message in a Bottle, Worm Weather, written by Jean Taft, and What’s More Scary?, written by Min Flyte. He works in a variety of media, using paints, pens, crayons and digital design to create his stylish artwork, and loves to draw anything and everything. Matt lives and works in Worcestershire with his wife. Find him online at matthuntillustration.com, on Twitter as @i_is_mat, and on Instagram as @mathunt.

About the illustrator

Matt Hunt graduated from the University of Birmingham with a degree in Fine Art, before becoming an illustrator. His picture books include Message in a Bottle, Worm Weather, written by Jean Taft, and What’s More Scary?, written by Min Flyte. He works in a variety of media, using paints, pens, crayons and digital design to create his stylish artwork, and loves to draw anything and everything. Matt lives and works in Worcestershire with his wife. Find him online at matthuntillustration.com, on Twitter as @i_is_mat, and on Instagram as @mathunt.

ISBN: 9781406370638
Imprint: Walker
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Paperback
Release Date: August 1, 2018
Dimensions: 215 x 270mm, 32pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $16.99
New Zealand RRP: $18.99
Stock Level: In Stock

Last updated on 09/12/18 at 21:43:31
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.