By Jane Mitchell

The moving story of a Kashmiri boy soldier, from a prize-winning Irish author.

It’s an ordinary morning at nine-year-old Rafiq’s school in rural Kashmir when the silence of dawn prayers is ripped apart by gunfire. Soldiers of the Kashmir Freedom Fighters have raided the village in search of new recruits – they scrawl a line in chalk across the schoolroom wall, and any boy whose height reaches the line will be taken to fight. Rafiq is tall for his age – the first boy to cross the chalkline into a life of brutality and terrorism. This is the story of Rafiq’s transformation from child to boy soldier, as he is indoctrinated into the cause of fanatical belief. But his family have not forgotten him; when he can no longer recognize himself, they remember the boy he was, and reach out a hand of redemption as he spirals towards a final act of atrocity.

  • Endorsed by Amnesty International UK as contributing to a better understanding of human rights and the values that underpin them

About the author

Jane Mitchell is the author of When Stars Stop Spinning, which won Bisto Book of the Year in 1994 and Reading Association of Ireland in 1995. Different Lives was published in 1996, Making Waves in 1998 and Olivia's Collection in 1998.

ISBN: 9781406315172
Imprint: Walker
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Paperback
Release Date: August 1, 2009
Dimensions: 129 x 198mm, 240pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $16.99
New Zealand RRP: $21.99
Stock Level: In Stock

Last updated on 29/03/21 at 23:03:39
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.