Books

Captain Rosalie

By Timothée de Fombelle
Illustrated by Isabelle Arsenault

An evocative, beautifully imagined and heart-wrenching wartime story by celebrated author Timothée de Fombelle.

In this astonishingly-drawn wartime story, perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo, a little girl called Rosalie is a captain on a very secret mission – a mission to learn how to read. Mother reads often to Rosalie, especially when Father sends them letters from the front line describing the forest in the distance, the churned-up soil and the soldiers hiding in holes. But as Rosalie gets further along in her mission and begins to piece together the words in her father’s letters, the truth about the consequences of war are finally and irrevocably revealed.

  • A exquisitely illustrated hardback edition of an incredibly moving and powerful story by an award-winning author and illustrator.
  • An ode to the power of imagination, education and family, set against the backdrop of World War One.
  • "Timothée's writing is exciting, unusual, and beautiful." David Almond

About the author

Timothee de Fombelle is a much-admired French playwright, as well as the author of award-winning fiction. His first series, Toby Alone and Toby Alone and the Secrets of the Tree has been printed in 27 languages and has won numerous awards including France’s prestigious Prix Sorcières and the Marsh Award. Timothee's adventure series, Vango, Book One: Between Sky and Earth and Vango, Book Two: A Prince Without a Kingdom received huge critical acclaim, and book one was granted an English Pen Award for translation. Timothee's beautiful story, Captain Rosalie, was first featured in the acclaimed collection The Great War:an Anthology of Stories Inspired by Objects from the First World War. Timothee lives in Paris. Isabelle Arsenault is a Canadian illustrator who has won an impressive number of awards and has achieved international recognition. Her books include Migrant by Maxine Trottier, a New York Times Best Illustrated Children's Book and a finalist for the Governor General's Award; Once Upon a Northern Light, written by Jean E. Pendziwol; Jane, the Fox and Me, written by Fanny Britt; and Alpha. She lives in Montreal, Canada. Find Isabelle online at www.isabellearsenault.com.

About the illustrator

Isabelle Arsenault is a Quebec illustrator who has won an impressive number of awards and has achieved international recognition. Her picture books include Migrant by Maxine Trottier, a New York Times Best Illustrated Children's Book and a finalist for the Governor General's Award, and Once Upon a Northern Light by Jean E. Pendziwol. Find Isabelle online at www.isabellearsenault.com

ISBN: 9781406377101
Imprint: Walker
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Hardback
Release Date: November 1, 2018
Dimensions: 156 x 185mm, 64pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $19.99
New Zealand RRP: $22.99
Stock Level: In Stock

Last updated on 28/05/19 at 02:40:11
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.