Books

Bronze and Sunflower

By Cao Wenxuan
Illustrated by Meilo So

A classic, heartwarming tale set to the backdrop of the Chinese cultural revolution, with the timeless feels of Eva Ibbotson's Journey to the River Sea.

A beautifully written, timeless tale by bestselling Chinese author Cao Wenxuan, winner of the Hans Christian Andersen Award. When Sunflower, a young city girl, moves to the countryside, she grows to love the reed marsh lands – the endlessly flowing river, the friendly buffalo with their strong backs and shiny round heads, the sky that stretches on and on in its vastness. However, the days are long, and the little girl is lonely. Then she meets Bronze, who, unable to speak, is ostracized by the other village boys. Soon the pair are inseparable, and when Bronze’s family agree to take Sunflower in, it seems that fate has brought him the sister he has always longed for. But life in Damaidi is hard, and Bronze’s family can barely afford to feed themselves. Will the city girl be able to stay in this place where she has finally found happiness?

  • Timeless storytelling in the vein of Eva Ibbotson and Hans Christian Andersen by the internationally acclaimed author of Red Gourd and Thatched Cottage.
  • Winner of the Jiangsu Literature Prize.
  • A story of the trials of poverty and the power of love and loyalty to overcome hardship.

About the author

Cao Wenxuan is one of China's most important children's writers and is widely considered the country's most subtle and philosophical, often referred to as China's very own Hans Christian Andersen. He is a professor of Chinese literature at Peking University, and has in turn taught some of China's best young writers. Many of his books have been bestsellers, including Thatched Cottage and Red Gourd, and his work has been translated into French, Russian, Japanese, Korean and English. Cao has won several of China's most prestigious awards for children's literature, including the Song Qingling and Bing Xin prizes, and is current winner of the Hans Christian Andersen Award.

About the illustrator

Helen Wang has a BA Hons in Chinese from SOAS and is currently a Curator of East Asian Money at the British Museum. She has written and edited numerous books and articles and has been translating from Chinese to English for nearly 25 years, including, for children, Jackal and Wolf by SHEN Shixi and Pai Hua Zi and the Clever Girl by Zhang Xinxin. She lives with her family in north London.

ISBN: 9781406348460
Imprint: Walker
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Paperback
Release Date: June 1, 2015
Dimensions: 129 x 198mm, 400pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $16.99
New Zealand RRP: $18.99
Stock Level: Out Of Stock

Last updated on 22/07/19 at 00:48:34
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.