By Michael Rosen
Illustrated by Michael Foreman

A lyrical story about a little boy's life-changing journey through the sky with a magical cat.

Raffi’s brother Jake can do everything. He can run very fast, jump very high, dance and draw elephants. If only Raffi were good at something too… One evening when Raffi can’t sleep, a magical flying cat called Blue appears and takes him on an adventure through the night sky. They fly off together into the darkness and as they fly, Blue points at shop signs and street lamps and they light up. They fly higher and higher, spreading light, until they even light up the stars! The next day, thoughtful little Raffi feels just a little bit different. He is happier after his wonderful dream, and has more confidence. He even finds himself reassuring his brother that walking home in the dark is no problem at all – it’s fun!

  • An unusual and beautiful picture book created by two major picture-book talents.

About the author

Michael Rosen is one of the most popular authors of stories and poems for children. His bestselling titles, published by Walker Books, include Little Rabbit Foo Foo, Michael Rosen’s Sad Book, This Is Our House, Tiny Little Fly, Dear Mother Goose and its sequel Dear Fairy Godmother. He has also written many collections of poetry including Bananas in My Ears. Michael received the Eleanor Farjeon Award for distinguished services to children’s literature in 1997, and was the Children’s Laureate from 2007 to 2009. He is a distinguished critic and academic, co-directing an MA in Children’s Literature at Birkbeck College. He is often called upon to talk about children’s literature and his poetry readings are adored by children and adults. He also presents radio programmes for the BBC. Michael lives in London with his family.

About the illustrator

Michael Foreman is one of the world’s leading author-illustrators with over 200 titles to his name. He has won several major awards, including the Kate Greenaway Medal in 1983 for Long Neck and Thunderfoot and in 1990 for War Boy. In addition to creating his own picture books, Michael has illustrated the work of many famous writers, including Shakespeare, Charles Dickens, Oscar Wilde and Ernest Hemingway, and has illustrated editions of Mother Goose and the Creation Stories, as well as several texts by Michael Morpurgo. His titles for Walker Books include Beowulf, Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, Mia’s Story, Say Hello, A Child’s Garden, White Owl, Barn Owl and The Lion Who Ate Everything (written by Tobias Hill). Michael lives in London.

ISBN: 9781406354546
Imprint: Walker
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Paperback
Release Date: May 1, 2014
Dimensions: 250 x 230mm, 32pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $16.99
New Zealand RRP: $18.99
Stock Level: Out Of Stock

Last updated on 13/01/19 at 21:47:30
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.