Beyond the Sixth Extinction

By Shawn Sheehy
Illustrated by Jordi Solano

Elaborate pop-ups feature some wonderfully creepy creatures that just might dominate the ecosystem and be essential to our planet’s survival in an eerily realistic future world.

Whether or not we know it, the sixth global extinction is already under way, propelled not by a meteor but by human activity on Earth. Take a long step forward into the year 4847 with the help of stunning pop-ups portraying eight fantastical creatures, along with spreads and flaps presenting details about each one. Paper engineer Shawn Sheehy envisions the aftermath of extinction as a flourishing ecosystem centered around fictional creatures that could evolve from existing organisms. Promising high appeal for science-fiction fans of all ages — and plenty of food for discussion — this evolutionary extravaganza offers a time line of the six extinction events in Earth’s history, a “field guide” to each creature, a diagram of species relationships, a habitat map of the (imagined) ruins of Chicago, and an illuminating author’s note.

  • Stunning pop-ups from master paper engineer Shawn Sheehy
  • A blend of fact and science fiction paints a vivid and elaborate picture of an all-too-believable future world.
  • Perfect for fans who have outgrown Dragonology—this could be considered a sort of "Evolutionology"

About the author

Shawn Sheehy is the award-winning creator of Welcome to the Neighborwood. Passionate about pop-up books, he works sculpturally with the book format and presents workshops on pop-up engineering across the country. He lives in Chicago.

About the illustrator

Jordi Solano is the illustrator of Swimming with Sharks by Heather Lang. He lives in Spain.

ISBN: 9780763687885
Imprint: Candlewick Studio
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Hardback
Release Date: October 1, 2018
Dimensions: 259 x 292mm, 40pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $89.99
New Zealand RRP: $92.99
Stock Level: Out Of Stock

Last updated on 07/03/21 at 21:44:52
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.